Mahirap Magtrabaho sa Call Center!

If you ask every call center agent in the country, they’ll tell you one thing:  it’s a really tough job!  The late working hours, heavy work load, ridiculous targets and unreasonable quotas, and worst of all, stubborn customers.  But this is not really apparent when you look at all the people queuing up just to get accepted, to get a piece of the pie.  And you really can’t blame them.  With huge salaries (compare with other jobs), bonuses and benefits, no paperwork (mostly), and no need to take your work home, this seems to be a fair trade-off.

I’m not here to say that they are wrong.  That the call center industry is evil.  No.  I’m just here to tell what’s it like to work in a call center.  I’ve been working in a call center for almost 6 years now.  I’ve seen lots of things, experienced lots of things, and learned lots of things, which I want to share with everyone.  I’ve got to warn you though, this is not about the call center industry.  It’s about working in a call center.

Sometimes I feel that the call center industry is a bit misunderstood.  When you ask people what do they think of call centers, they’ll tell you right away about 5-figure salaries, working the graveyard shift, and teenagers drinking at high noon.  That’s not what the call center industry is all about.  Like every job in the world, it is a REAL job (contrary to what others may think).  It’s not just about making money then partying at the end of the day, or should I say, at the start of the day.  It is one of the toughest jobs in the world.

Oh, one other thing.  That’s me on the caricature.  I’m planning to post some of my work here.  Some of my sketches and comic strips that I made while taking calls!  Hope you’ll like them!

16 thoughts on “Mahirap Magtrabaho sa Call Center!

  1. Ernie R.?? Ikaw ba yan? Ahaha😉

    True! All of it is effing true brother! It is one of the toughest jobs in the world. People would normally think, pag marunong mag-English enough na to make-it in this industry, I say, simula pa lang yun!

    And Martin I see you yung mga images mo resembles our floor. I miss the floor!
    Ayus ‘to pre, keep it up!😉

  2. this is so spot on. haha haivng worked in this industry for almost three years now, grabe it’s pretty hard if you’re not smart.

    most people think it’s a way out. sila yung mga di tumatagal.

  3. We have to take pride in working in the industry. Indeed it’s not an easy job as what other people might think of.

    Kudos to you! Nice blog!

  4. this is very true…kala ng iba madali lang sa call center. What they don’t know is that you need a brain to be able to survive in this industry…kasi kung puro pacute ka lang…you’ll end up being a call center hopper, ryt? ^_^

Leave a Reply

